Two CBR scientists appointed as new Canada Research Chairs

Two Centre for Blood Research (CBR) scientists are among a group of Canada Research Chairs (CRCs) announced today by the Government of Canada. They are newly appointed CRCs:


Dr. Aly Karsan
Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Blood Cancers
Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Dr. Jayachandran Kizhakkedathu
Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Immunomodulation Materials and Immunotherapy
Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine


UBC received funding for a total of 19 chairs, which includes six new CRCs and two renewed CRCs within the Faculty of Medicine.

Established in 2000, the CRC program helps bolster academic research by attracting and retaining world’s brightest scholars and scientists. Chairholders work across a diversity of fields to advance knowledge and discovery, improve quality of life, strengthen Canada’s international competitiveness, and train the next generation of highly skilled talent.

In total, the Government of Canada is investing more than $139 million to support 176 new and renewed Chairs at 46 academic institutions in Canada.

The Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), a partner of the CRC program, also announced an investment for cutting-edge research infrastructure to support chairholders through the John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF). Through JELF, a combined total of over $500,00 was awarded to new CRCs at UBC.

Congratulations, Dr. Karsan and Dr. Kizhakkedathu, and to all new and renewed Chairs!


This story was adapted from the Faculty of Medicine website, with minor changes: Eight Faculty of Medicine researchers among new and renewed Canada Research Chairs.