Investigators

The CBR is a multidisciplinary research institute. Thus, research activities are diverse, spanning the basic medical, clinical, social and applied sciences. Each CBR member leads a basic or applied research group and/or has major clinical responsibilities which are linked to blood-related diseases. Collaborations are frequently established, with the goal of translating biomedical and technological advances in understanding blood and blood-related processes, to improve health.

Investigator Contact Information Location

Michael Barnett Tel 1-604-875-4863
mbarnett@bccancer.bc.ca
Gordon and Leslie Diamond Health Care Centre
Dieter Bromme Tel 1-604-822-1787
dbromme@interchange.ubc.ca
Lab Website
Life Sciences Centre
Don Brooks Tel 1-604-822-7081
don.brooks@ubc.ca
Life Sciences Centre
Cedric Carter Tel 1-604-822-7275
cjcarter@interchange.ubc.ca
Life Sciences Centre
Kate Chipperfield Tel 1-604-875-2044
kate.chipperfield@cw.bc.ca
BC Children’s & Women’s Hospital

Hélène Côté

Tel +1-604 822 9777
helene.cote@ubc.ca
UBC Hospital
Ed Conway (Director) Tel +1-604-822-4252
ed.conway@ubc.ca
Life Sciences Centre
Dana Devine Tel 1-604-822-7270
dana.devine@blood.ca; ddevine@pathology.ubc.ca
Life Sciences Centre
Leonard Foster Tel 1-604-822-8311
foster@chibi.ubc.ca
Lab Website
Michael Smith Laboratories
Bob Hancock Tel 1-604-822-2682
bob@hancocklab.com
Lab Website
Centre for Microbial Diseases and Immunity Research
Richard Harrigan prharrigan@cfenet.ubc.ca
Lab Website
 St. Paul’s Hospital
Charles Haynes Tel 1-604-822-5136
israels@chbe.ubc.ca
Michael Smith Laboratories

Maria Gyongyossy-Issa

Tel 1-604-822-7853
missa@interchange.ubc.ca
maria.issa@blood.ca
Life Sciences Centre

Shannon Jackson

Tel 1-604-684-5794
Dr.Jackson@providencehematology.com
St. Pauls Hospital

Wilfred Jefferies

Tel 1-604-822-6961
wilf@brc.ubc.ca
The Biomedical Research Centre
Aly Karsan Tel 1-604-675-8033
akarsan@bccrc.ca
aly.karsan@ubc.ca
Lab Website
Cancer Research Centre
Juergen Kast Tel 1-604-822-7814
kast@brc.ubc.ca
Lab Website
Biomedical Research Centre
Hugh Kim Tel 1-604-827-4356
hughkim@dentistry.ubc.ca
Life Sciences Centre
Christian Kastrup Tel +1-604-827-3749
ckastrup@msl.ubc.ca
Lab Website
Michael Smith Laboratories

Jayachandran Kizhakkedathu

Tel 1-604-822-7085
jay@pathology.ubc.ca
Lab Website
Life Sciences Centre
Steve Kleinman Tel 1-250-995-3110
skleinman@shaw.ca
Lab Website
University of Victoria
Agnes Lee Tel 1-604-875-4952
alee14@bccancer.bc.ca
Vancouver General Hospital
Heather Leitch drhleitch@providencehematology.com St. Paul’s Hospital
Ross MacGillivray Tel 1-604-822-3027
macg@interchange.ubc.ca
Lab Website
Life Sciences Centre
Ralph Matthews Tel 1-604-822-4386
ralphm@exchange.ubc.ca

Anthropology and Sociology Building

Grant Mauk Tel 1-604-822-3719
mauk@interchange.ubc.ca
Life Sciences Centre

Elisabeth Maurer-Spurej

Tel 1-604-827-5993
emaurer@interchange.ubc.ca
elisabeth.maurer@blood.ca
Lab Website
Life Sciences Centre
Robert McMaster Tel 1-604-875-5641
robert.mcmaster@vch.ca
Vancouver Coastal Health Research Institute
Kelly McNagny Tel 1-604-822-7824
kelly@brc.ubc.ca
The Biomedical Research Centre
Chris Orvig Tel 1-604-822-4449
orvig@chem.ubc.ca
Chemistry Building
Chris Overall Tel 1-604-822-2958
Fax 1-604-822-7742
chris.overall@ubc.ca
Life Sciences Centre
Geoffrey Payne Tel 1-250-960-5104
payneg@unbc.ca
University of Northern BC
Ed Pryzdial Tel 1-604-822-3823
ed.pryzdial@blood.ca
Life Sciences Centre
Fabio Rossi Tel 1-604-822-7138
fabio@brc.ubc.ca
The Biomedical Research Centre
Mark Scott Tel 1-604-822-4976
mdscott@interchange.ubc.ca
Life Sciences Centre
Andre Smith Tel: 1-250-721-7583
apsmith@uvic.ca
University of Victoria
Natalie Strynadka Tel +1-604-822-0789
natalie@byron.biochem.ubc.ca
Life Sciences Centre
John Wu Tel 1-604-875-2406
jwu@cw.bc.ca
BC Children’s Hospital and BC Women’s Hospital & Health Centre
Paul Yenson Tel 1-604-875-4863 Gordon and Leslie Diamond Health Care Centre
Tyler Smith Tel 604-875-4111 ext 68206
Tyler.Smith@vch.ca
Vancouver General Hospital